Finding Lost Devices with Google and Apple

Both Google’s Find My Device and Apple’s Find My function the same way: by locating devices connected to your Google account or Apple ID. These can be smartphones, computers, smartwatches, headphones, and other electronics that are trackable through your chosen device-tracking app. Here’s how to find a lost device using either of the two options.

Google Find My Device: How to Play Sound

This feature helps you locate your lost device much more quickly, as the sound immediately gives away the phone’s location. However, your lost device won’t produce a sound if it’s turned off.

Google Find My Device: How to Secure Your Device

Google Find My Device: How to Erase Your Device

Devices Supported by Google’s Find My Device

Google’s Find My Device only supports the following device types running Android:

SmartphoneTabletSmartwatch

In other words, you can only locate your device with Google’s Find My Device if it can connect to the Internet. Lastly, you may be wondering if you can track Chromebooks using Google’s Find My Device app. The answer is no. You’ll have to log in to your Google account via the Web to access remote commands for lost Chromebooks.

Apple Find My: How to Play Sound

Apple Find My: How to Mark Device as Lost

Apple Find My: How to Erase Your Device

Devices Types Supported by Apple’s Find My

What sets Apple’s Find My far ahead of Google’s Find My Device is its long list of compatible devices. In the Find My app, you can locate and execute a few remote controls on these Apple devices:

iPhoneiPadMacApple WatchAirTagAirPods (Pro and Max)MagSafe Wallet

Apple Find My is also integrated into third-party products from Belkin, Chipolo, VanMoof, Targus, and Beats. This means specific items from these brands can be tracked in the Find My app without attaching an AirTag. Visit this page for more information on third-party products supported by Apple’s Find My.

1. Will people in my Family Sharing plan see the location of my connected Apple devices?

Yes. You can also see devices connected to the Apple ID they used to join Family Sharing with you.

2. Is the location shown in Google’s Find My Device and Apple’s Find My accurate?

Device locations shown in both apps are only approximate. They are the last known locations before the devices get disconnected from the Internet or run out of battery. That’s why it’s useful to use the apps’ “Play Sound” feature to locate your device when the maps show the devices are close.