You can wait for one device to charge a bit before switching to the other, or you can use a dual USB power bank like the one Sabrent offers, which we’ll take a closer look at below.

About Sabrent’s 6100mAh Power Bank

Sabrent’s very stylish 6100mAh dual USB power bank is advertised as an iPhone and iPad charger, but you can use it for any smartphone and tablet that charges via a micro USB cable. The device is around the size of an iPhone 5 being 4.7 inches (height) x 0.6 inches (diameter) x 2.5 inches (width); it weighs 6.1 ounces. In comparison, the iPhone 5 is 4.87 inches (height) x .30 inches (diameter) x 2.31 inches (width). It comes with a short micro-USB cable. There are two USB ports on the power bank: one labeled “smartphone” and the other labeled “iPad.” The “smartphone” port is a 1000mAh USB port that can be used for Android and iOS phones. The “iPad” port is a 2100mAh USB port that can be used for Android and iOS tablets. There is one last input port on the side of the charger. With four blue LEDs on top of the charger, you’ll always know the status of the 6100mAh battery. When all four LEDs are illuminated, 76% – 100% of the battery remains. When three LEDs are illuminated, 51% – 75% of the battery remains. When two LEDs are illuminated, 26% – 50% of the battery remains. Finally, when one LED is illuminated, 1% – 25% of the battery remains. These LEDs really come in handy, both when charging your devices (letting you know how much of the battery is left) and when charging the power bank (letting you know how much longer it needs to be charged). Speaking of charging the power bank, I initially tried charging it via a USB hub on my computer, but the power bank never charged past two LEDs – even after being connected for over 24 hours. So, it definitely needs a lot of power to charge. I find that using a USB AC adapter that connects to an outlet works best; using this method, the power bank is completely charged within five to six hours. There’s also a power button in the center of the LEDs. It’s hard to see with the naked eye (not like what’s shown in the picture below) – I can only see it when holding the power bank at a certain angle. When you connect the power bank to your devices it won’t begin charging until you press the power button. There’s no need to worry about shutting off the charger, though, because it automatically shuts off once charging is done.

Dual USB Power Bank Performance

I’m sure that results will differ depending on the device used with the charger. For testing purposes I used a Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 tablet (2014 edition). For both tests, I made sure the power bank was fully charged before using. The first time, I let my tablet go down to 19%. I then powered off my tablet and connected the power bank. I left it alone until the power bank died, which was around three hours later. When I turned my tablet back on, it was on 98%. So, it added almost 80% of charge to my battery. The second time, I let my tablet go down to 9%. I then connected the power bank and left my tablet on. I decided to use it for an hour or so while connected. This time, the power bank died after about 2 1/2 hours, leaving my battery at 83%. So with this test, it added almost 75% to my battery and in less time and while using my tablet for almost half of that time.

Final Thoughts

If you’re ever in a situation where your smartphone and tablet are both on the verge of dying on you (or already dead), it would be in your best interest to have an external charger such as Sabrent’s 6100mAh dual USB power bank. Not only is it easy on the eyes, but it’s small, portable and efficient. I have used it multiple times without any issue, and I’m very happy with the results thus far.